Culture, Photography

Photography: Abe Pacana


Abe Pacana, Multi Row Stitched Panorama of New York“I am Abe Pacana, a nature & landscape photographer, engineer, mediocre guitarist based near Philadelphia. I do not believe that you need the best camera and the most expensive stuff to capture the best photos. Some people will use the excuse ‘my camera does not have a good dynamic range’ or ‘the mega pixel is too low’ to justify the purchase of an expensive camera. Invest in a good lens instead. Learn how to use your current camera and understand proper exposure. Learn when to shoot not where to shoot.”

I like Abe’s refreshing approach and practical, down-to-earth advice to the aspiring lensman (or  woman):

Abe Pacana Coastal panorama

  • Leave it to the pros to buy expensive six thousand dollar cameras because they have to show it off to their clients.
  • I am also a self-taught shooter and will not spend a dollar on workshops. All the famous photographers that I know were self-taught.
  • Anything that you need to learn can be found in the Internet.
  • Practice, practice and research.

Like most of us, Abe has a day job. “I work in telecommunications and I don’t really go out 250 days a year shooting nature & landscapes. I shoot whenever I can specially during weekends.”
Abe_Pacana, Brooklyn on my Mind

There’s a rich set of galleries of  landscape and nature photography, especially stitched panoramic photography. All photos you see in his blogs were shot by Abe who retains all copyright. RC

About Robin Catling

Writer; performer; project manager; sports coach; all-round eccentric.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Photography: Abe Pacana

  1. These are wonderful! A $6000.00 camera can’t give you an “eye”. That belongs to the individual photographer.

    Posted by unsouthernbelle | June 18, 2012, 4:35 am
  2. thanks friend.

    Posted by Carol Magalhaes | June 19, 2012, 11:29 am
  3. Hey there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading your post. Thanks a lot!

    Posted by Kalafut | June 20, 2012, 4:43 pm
  4. This post truly made my day. Thanks

    Posted by Mukherjee | June 20, 2012, 5:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Follow us on Twitter @EverythingExpre

Find Us on Facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Library

BBC World News

BBC World News
Opens the BBC World News page.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

