Culture, Opinion, Technology

My New Year’s Resolution – To Get A Divorce (Re-post)


Samsung TextingA superbly well-expressed post from earlier this year by Lesley Carter on her great blog, Bucket List Publications

I’ve been cheating on Darren for almost two years and it’s time I admit it to myself and the world. It’s with someone who’s a reliable, funny, genius and never leaves me feeling lost. But if you’re thinking, “What a ‘….’”, give me a minute to explain because I think you’ve been cheating too and it’s time we get a divorce.

He’s someone who knows everything about my life, someone who travels with me on every trip, and someone who is at my side even while I sleep in bed with my husband. His name is Samsung Galaxy S3. While I’m completely obsessed with him, I can’t help but notice how much of my time he consumes. He wants my attention during family dinners, during holidays, and even in the middle of the night. He’s extremely insensitive when it comes to my safety and time with my daughter and my husband. He’s always tempting me to focus on him while I’m driving and even when my daughter wants to dance, he’s shouting out for me. When I’m chatting with Darren and Galaxy’s magical voice appears, I can’t help but loose my concentration. My time is not evenly weighted. The focus needs to be on family and personal relationships first.

Darren and Athena have been patient with my cheating, but that can only last for so long. It’s time for me to get a divorce, but not from Darren… from my phone. The longer we ignore the issue, the worse personal relationships will be affected.

We need to bring our phones back to being an accessory, not a priority.

My 2014 bucket list is in the making and should be complete by the end of the week. As part of my bucket list, and I challenge you to make it part of yours, I’m divorcing my phone and planning to spend a significant amount of time each day completely disconnected.

My family needs to always remain the first priority in my life. Learning to balance my time and making my phone and my computer accessories rather than priorities are crucial.

We only get one shot to make this life count and I’m not planning on wasting it. Some people create a bucket list because they are dying; I created one because I want to live.

In 2014, I vow to divorce my phone. Will you join me? Share this with a friend, and let’s get the “Divorce Your Phone” movement going.

_____________________________________________________________________

Disclaimer: The idea for this post came from Jarrid Wilson and his awesome writings. I asked for permission to use the idea because I thought it was definitely share-worthy. It’s tailored to fit my life and my situation but the idea originated from him. You can check out his site by clicking his name.

 

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: My New Year’s Resolution – To Get A Divorce (Re-post) - May 1, 2014

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Follow us on Twitter @EverythingExpre

Find Us on Facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Library

BBC World News

BBC World News
Opens the BBC World News page.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

