Culture, Music

Review: David Guetta Nothing But the Beat 2.0

David Guetta Nothing But the Beat 2.0 coverSuperstar French DJ David Guetta has re-released his 2011 album Nothing But the Beat with six extra tracks. Originally featuring worldwide hits Titanium, Turn Me On with Nicki Minaj and I Can Only Imagine with Chris Brown and Lil Wayne, it may feel like you heard it all before. You have.

The world dance King of Collaborations is adding to an already greatest hits-sounding collection of commercial tracks with Ne-Yo and Akon in Play Hard, Nervo in In My Head and Canadian duo Tegan and Sara in Every Chance We Get We Run, among others.

Sia returns for Wild One 2 with Nicky Romero and in the current single She Wolf (Falling to Pieces). Taped Rei is in Just One Last Time.

Question: is this another Guetta cash grab or is he just giving his fans what they want? Guetta has broken America big time. The only name missing from a very long list is previous collaborator Rihanna. That long list may be the problem. After a year of constant radio and TV play, it’s not exactly a fresh sound, it’s no longer ground breaking and the instrumental tracks don’t convince that Guetta is still cool or underground. Do we need the expletives on a dance record?

Play Hard doesn’t gel but sounds like two different songs hammered together. Sia needs to break free of Guetta’s electronic clanging. And I remain unconvinced that Minaj has any kind of talent beyond self-promotion. Her vocals sound like a herniated duck on helium. Only less tuneful.

Savouring some favourites, I nevertheless find myself skipping tracks all too often. RC

David Guetta Nothing But the Beat 2.0 tracklisting:
1. ‘Titanium’ feat. Sia
2. ‘Turn Me On’ feat. Nicki Minaj
3. ‘She Wolf (Falling to Pieces)’ feat. Sia
4. ‘Without You’ feat. Usher
5. ‘I Can Only Imagine’ feat. Chris Brown & Lil Wayne
6. ‘Play Hard’ feat. Ne-Yo & Akon
7. ‘Wild One 2’ feat. David Guetta, Nicky Romero, Sia (Edit)
8. ‘Just One Last Time’ feat. Taped Rai
9. ‘In My Head’ feat. Nervo
10. ‘Where Them Girls At’ feat. Nicki Minaj & Flo Rida
11. ‘Little Bad Girl’ feat. Taio Cruz & Ludacris
12. ‘Sweat’ (David Guetta Remix)
13. ‘Crank It Up’ feat. Akon
14. ‘I Just Wanna F’ feat. Timbaland & Dev
15. ‘Nothing Really Matters’ feat.
16. ‘Repeat’ feat. Jessie J
17. ‘Night of Your Life’ feat. Jennifer Hudson
18. ‘Every Chance We Get We Run’ feat. Tegan and Sara
19. ‘Sunshine’ (Edit)
20. ‘Lunar’ (Edit)
21. ‘What the F**k’
22. ‘Metropolis’ (Edit)
23. ‘The Alphabeat’ (Edit)

About Robin Catling

Writer; performer; project manager; sports coach; all-round eccentric.


2 thoughts on “Review: David Guetta Nothing But the Beat 2.0

  1. interesting and informative blog thanks a lot for all the information provided.

    Posted by Lana Lana | Sep 25, 2012, 7:57 pm
  2. Hi, same old stuff from Guetta; what’s with the re-issue of year old albums? Do the record companies think we all still buy CD’s or something?

    Posted by Brodersen | Sep 30, 2012, 3:49 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Twitter Updates

Follow us on Twitter @EverythingExpre

Find Us on Facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.



BBC World News

BBC World News
Opens the BBC World News page.
%d bloggers like this: