Culture, Film

Opinion: The Magic of the Movies (Re-post)


Originally posted at Catling on Film.

I’ve been watching movies as long as I can remember.

Silent clowns Laurel and Hardy, Buster Keaton; classic Westerns (all of them!), visionary science fiction from Forbidden Planet to The Day the Earth Stood Still.

I thrilled at Errol Flyn as Robin Hood and the Sea Hawk; Jimmy Stewart maturing from honest everyman to gritty cowboy. I was captivated by Connery as Bond, touched by John Mills in Great Expectations.

I laughed at the sublime Gregory’s Girl and Ealing-comedy inheritor The Tall Guy.

I remember becoming aware of great directors; Kubrick, Coppola and onto International films with Kurasawa. I am not Spartacus and the thought of a Space Odyssey gives me travel sickness, but I will watch them over and over.

Working on the fringes of the film and TV industry, I sometimes get to be on set with some of the most Internationally renowned film-makers; Ridley Scott, Steven Spielberg, Ron Howard, Martin Scorcese. My list goes on; Mike Nichols, Ralph Fiennes, David Yates, Stephen Hopkins, and some of the rising stars like Regan Hall and Noel Clarke. Seldom, barring one director I won’t name, a disappointment.

I still get through a lot of movies, both on the big screen and on those shiny silver discs, now spurred on in my addiction by Victoria.

I still get excited at the prospect of a new high-concept, big idea movie, a thought-provoking bit of sci-fi, the latest literary adaptation, or anything with a Western show-down in the finale.

Too many movies, not enough time. RC

Related: Review: Great Expectations (2012)

Image: Ramon Novarro, Francis X. Bushman, Ben Hur, 1925

About Robin Catling

Writer; performer; project manager; sports coach; all-round eccentric.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Opinion: The Magic of the Movies (Re-post)

  1. I’ve read several excellent stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you put to create such a wonderful informative site.

    Posted by download movie | May 25, 2013, 7:19 am
  2. Hi there, I enjoy reading through your post. I like to write a little comment to support you.

    Posted by debbie funderburk | July 14, 2013, 6:51 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Opinion: No Summer Blockbusters, Please | Everything Express - July 14, 2013

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Follow us on Twitter @EverythingExpre

Find Us on Facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Library

BBC World News

BBC World News
Opens the BBC World News page.
